The Dean's Advisory Committee on Diversity

The Dean’s Advisory Committee on Diversity, also known as the Diversity Committee, is composed of faculty, staff, and students at UW Law. We meet regularly as a whole, and in smaller subcommittees, to discuss issues of diversity, inclusivity and community at our school.

We advise the Dean on ways to promote diversity and create a welcoming school climate that is supportive of all students, faculty and staff, particularly those from underrepresented groups.

Taking input from our fellow students, staff and faculty, we pursue multiple avenues to support UW Law’s Diversity Statement and Diversity Plan, as well as our own initiatives within the school.

The Committee’s scope of work:

  1. Proactively promote, ensure and protect the community of UW Law.
  2. Encourage an inclusive learning environment.
  3. Improve the diversity discourse in our curriculum and academic activities.
  4. Review current challenges and expand opportunities in recruitment and retention of diverse students, faculty and staff.
  5. Foster better diversity dialogue through training and ongoing cultural competency education.


Committee Co-Chairs

Student Representative

  • Roxanne Reese



  • Zack Gussin
  • Christal Harrison
  • Lara Hengelbrok
  • David Hession
  • Jessica Houston
  • Kiran Jassal
  • Astor Kidane
  • Ellen Macomson
  • Doug McManaway
  • Sophia Posnock
  • Anarose Reardon-Helferd
  • Roxanne Reese
  • Ben Robbins
  • Michelle Rusk
  • Tadeu Velloso
  • James Wang

Faculty and Staff

  • Ruth Beardsley
  • Kaitlyn Bunker
  • Laurie Carlsson
  • Lisa Castilleja
  • Molly Cohan
  • Bill Covington
  • Hana Kenny
  • Mary Hotchkiss
  • Alan Kirtley
  • Mathiew Le
  • Debbie Maranville
  • Dana Raigrodski
  • Mike Townsend
  • Brenda Williams
  • Micah Wyatt
  • David Ziff

To contact the Diversity Committee, email

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195