Contact: Elizabeth Coplan
University of Washington School of Law



Professor Kathryn Watts receives the Norm Maleng Law School Faculty Award

SEATTLE -- UW Law Associate Dean and Professor Kathryn Watts received the Norm Maleng Law School Faculty Award during the UW Law’s Annual Award Ceremony May 7.

“I was extremely honored to be awarded the Norm Maleng award in recognition of my scholarship,” Watts said. “I greatly appreciate all of the support and encouragement I receive from the law school, and I look forward to continuing to try to produce meaningful scholarship in the future.”

Dean Testy, who bestowed the award, noted that “Associate Dean Watts sets a high standard of excellence in her scholarship. Her work is consistently relevant to pressing issues of the day, clearly written and cogently argued, and published in influential journals that enhance the impact of her work as well as the law school’s reputation.”

Recently, Watts' publications have included:

Regulatory Moratoria, 61 Duke L.J. 1885- 1955 (2012).
The Structural Exceptionalism of Bankruptcy Administration, UCLA L. Rev. (forthcoming 2012) (co-authored with Rafael I. Pardo).
Constraining Certiorari Using Administrative Law Principles, 160 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1-68 (2011).

The award is in memory of Norman K. Maleng ’66, who created a UW School of Law fund to promote faculty excellence.

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195