Call for Nominations: 2006 Sharon Nelson Leadership Award

The Shidler Center for Law, Commerce & Technology is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the annual Sharon Nelson Leadership Award. The award was established in 2003 to honor prominent University of Washington School of Law alumni who have made significant contributions in the areas of law and technology. An accomplished attorney, Sharon Nelson was the inaugural director of the Shidler Center, and the former head of the Washington State Utilities and Transportation Commission.

Last year’s recipient was Roberta Katz (’80), associate vice president for strategic planning at Stanford University. Katz served as senior vice president and general counsel of Netscape Communications Corp. She was the first president of the bipartisan technology policy group, TechNet. Before becoming an attorney, Katz, who has a Ph.D. from Columbia University, was a cultural anthropologist and studied the effects of technological and social change. Previous winners have included The Hon. Betty Fletcher (’56), U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and Gregory Simon (’83), vice president for Fastercures and former Chief Domestic Policy Advisor to Vice President Al Gore.

The Sharon Nelson Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have emerged as leaders in fields involving law, commerce and technology. The work of the Nelson Award recipient should have national or international impact, transform his or her chosen field and contribute to the common good. The award is honorary and does not come with a stipend or honorarium.

Persons wishing to nominate a candidate should submit a letter – no more than four pages – that includes the following information:

  • Name of nominee and University of Washington School of Law graduating class (if known)
  • Summary of the nominee’s professional experiences and accomplishments (professional bios and other publicly available information may be included as an attachment)
  • Explanation of why the nominee is deserving of the Nelson Award
  • Nominator’s name and contact information including mailing address, telephone number and e-mail address

Please send nominations to the following address no later than February 1, 2006:

Shidler Center Logo

Awards Selection Committee
Sharon Nelson Leadership Award
c/o Shidler Center for Law, Commerce & Technology
William H. Gates Hall; Box 353020
Seattle, WA 98195-3020

Submissions may also be made via email to lct@u.washington.edu.

If you have questions, please contact Professor Anita Ramasastry at arama@u.washington.edu.

Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195