Contact: Elizabeth Coplan
University of Washington School of Law



UW Law Moot Court Teams win in National Black Law Student Association Competitions

SEATTLE -- The National Black Law Student Association hosted its regional moot court and mock trial tournaments Jan. 9 – 12, 2013. UW law students won both the Frederick Douglass Moot Court competition and the Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial competition. The champion teams, listed below, included 1Ls.

Frederick Douglass Moot Court Team
Celia Smalls '14
Lauren Jacobs '15

Thurgood Marshall Mock Trial Team
Jon Isaac Smith '13
Malik Gbenro '15
Megan Crenshaw '15
Lauren Conner '15

“It is rare for 1Ls to participate in national tournaments,” said Andy Murphy ’13, Vice President of National Competitions, Moot Court Honor Board, “and even rarer for them to win, so we are very proud of their accomplishments.”

Congratulations to the teams!