Contact: Elizabeth Coplan
University of Washington School of Law



UW Law students recognized by SBA during Annual Awards Celebration

As part of the UW School of Law’s Annual Award Celebration on May 7, the UW Law’s Student Bar Association recognized students for the Paul P. Ashley Scholarships, the Carkeek Prize, the Joan M. Fitzpatrick Fellowship in Human Rights Law and the Dwyer Jury Project. In total 10 students were awarded.


2L WLR members:

  • Kathleen Kline
  • Timothy Reynolds
  • Jay Schulkin

Four 3L WLR members:

  • Julian Beattie
  • Andrea Bradford
  • Rebecca Levine
  • David Rubenstein

This scholarship is funded from the income from the Ashley Endowment, created in 1979 to honor the memory of Paul P. Ashley ’26. Ashley was the first student editor-in-chief of the Washington Law Review and a partner in the firm now known as Foster Pepper PLLC.

UW 2L Jay Schulkin said he is honored to be a recipient of the scholarship and is thankful to the Ashley family for their support of Washington Law Review Members who choose to pursue public service during the summer.

“It's tough to make the decision to take an unpaid public service position as opposed to a paid position, but the possibility of earning an Ashley scholarship makes that decision easier,” he said. “I sincerely hope that UW Law and its donors follow in the footsteps of the Ashley family by making more resources available to those students and graduates who choose to take public service jobs rather than higher-paying private firm jobs.”

UW 3L Rebecca Levine has served on the Washington Law Review editorial board as the chief articles editor. She said is also honored to receive the Ashley scholarship.

“I am grateful that this award will provide valuable financial assistance as I prepare for the bar exam this summer and embark on a career in public service,” she said.

Levine will serve as a law clerk in the Washington Court of Appeals for the next two years and plans to pursue a career in government.

“I would also like to recognize Dean Testy, Professor Anna Mastroianni, Professor Ronald Collins and the late Professor Paul Steven Miller for their encouragement and for their support for the Washington Law Review,” she said.


Mary Swift

The Carkeek Prize is the oldest gift fund at the UW School of Law. The Carkeek Prize is an annual award for the best student contribution to the Washington Law Review by a member of the third-year class on a point of Washington law, or any point of particular interest to Washington attorneys. UW Law alumnus Vivian Carkeek was a member of the first graduating UW Law class and proposed the idea of a writing prize. After his death in 1934, his widow, Florence Carkeek continued to fund it annually. Upon her passing in 1953, a trust was established to fund the prize.


Ali Khreis

After her death in 2003, the last students of Professor Joan Fitzpatrick raised $100,000 to endow a fellowship in her name. Since 2008, the Fellowship is awarded to law students who demonstrate an interest in human rights and perform unpaid law related work in human rights. This year’s recipient, Ali Khreis will be working on human rights issues at the Helsinki Citizens Assembly in Istanbul, Turkey.


Raam Wong ’12

Since 2004 this fund has honored Judge William L. Dwyer’s memory by promoting two important public causes that he was passionate about: the education of young lawyers and the maintenance and support of the American jury system. Each year, a scholarship award is presented to the student with the best paper on the jury system.

This year’s recipient Raam Wong said he is honored to receive the Dwyer Jury Project Award.

“I have taken great pleasure from legal writing over the course of my law school career, and receiving this award was a wonderful way to cap the last three years,” he said, adding “everything I know about legal writing I learned from my 1L writing professor Kathy McGinnis.”


Connect with us:

© Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved University of Washington School of Law

4293 Memorial Way Northeast, Seattle, WA 98195