A favorite spot for taking a break on a sunny day, the Gates Hall Terrace boasts the most distinguishing feature of the building, the 4 glass skylights, or ‘crystals,’ that provide the library with natural light. The lawn and arbor provide a welcome place for members of the law school community. At night, light from the library illuminates the terrace.
Gates Hall is the third official home of the law school since its beginnings in 1899. The school was housed in various temporary locations until it moved into its own building, Condon Hall—named after the school's first dean, in 1932. Still located in “The Quad” on main campus, the building was renamed Gowen Hall when the law school moved off-campus in 1974 into the second Condon Hall, currently located on Campus Parkway. Condon Hall was the home of the law school and the Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library until 2003, when both institutions moved into William H. Gates Hall.
Condon Hall (now Gowen Hall) in 1955 >